Posted by Steve Matthews on Sep 06 2017 at 05:00PM PDT in 2019

The 2017

Maple Shade Babe Ruth Awards Ceremonies


Our first Individual Award was 1st awarded in 2013 and it is the Fran Friel Award.

This award is in memory of our dear friend and Commissioner Fran Friel who loved the game of baseball and enjoyed watching the players as they grew and improved during their 3 years in Babe Ruth. This award is in recognition of the player who best exemplifies Fran's love of the game and shows the most improvement during their 3 years in our league.

The Winner - Zac Cordy 

The next 2 awards were started in 1965 and have been awarded every year since. That was the year the league converted from Pony League to Babe Ruth League. During that summer 2 young men that played in the Maple Shade Baseball programs passed away.

The first was a young man named Bill Toth. Bill was in his twenties and had played in Little League, Pony League, the Community League and the M.S. team in the Rancocas Valley League. Bill worked for PSE&G and was killed in an accident at work. During his playing years Bill was noted as a fierce competietor, but always displayed good sportsmanship before, during and after the game. The founding fathers of MS Babe Ruth decided to give the Bill Toth Award to the player that displayed the best sportsmanship during their time in Babe Ruth.

The Winner's - Reese Dawson & Pat Whelan 

The final award is named after Kenny Seigel. Kenny was only 15 years old during that 1965 season. He played on Marquart Finishing who won the league championship that season, but before the banquet that year, Kenny contracted spinal meningistis and passed away. Kenny was the best pitcher on Marquart. He was also a very good basketball player and a straight A student. They decided to give the Kenny Seigel Award to the player who was both a good athlete and a good student.

The Winner's - Nick Natale & Jake Ormsby 



There are no comments for this announcement.